Monday, May 8, 2006

BKK101

I have always been wanting to go Bangkok, even before i went to Bali. and yes, finally this time i'm all set to go! even more satisfying is that, this trip will last me 7days and 7nights, so frankly i was looking for a more relaxing yet fruitful trip! :)

Day 1 (part 1)
8 May 2006
Monday

Morning, i woke up around 6am to follow my sister's car to mikey's place, so it's lucky that i packed all my stuffs ready the night before. after picking up mikey, my sis sent us to Kelana Jaya LRT station, so that we can go KL Sentral to catch the airport bus to LCCT terminal. we were really lucky as the minute we reached KL Sentral, the bus was ready to go, so no need to wait.

We reached LCCT, KLIA around 8.30am. it took the airport bus less than 45min, and it cost us RM9 per person. i would consider this cheap compare to the ERL to KLIA, and definitely a good service by AirAsia!! God bless them! Our flight was 10.40am, so we still have 10 minutes to kill before the check in time, so we went to McD to have breakfast.

The flight was delayed for 20 minutes, so we only stepped into the plane by 11am... the plane only took off about 11.30am i think, but no complain, as we expected worse. the flight took 2hours & 5mins. by the time we reached Bangkok airport, the announcement said, it's 12.30pm Bangkok time. (Malaysia time 1.30pm)


A little something...

Malaysia/KL

Thai/Bangkok

RM 1

Baht 10

8 am

7 am




when we came out from the airport, there are a lot of ppl asking us whether we want to take taxi or not. there were even officers telling us the counter to book taxi is over somewhere. but i know very sure that there is a cheaper airport bus, so me n mikey just walked past them. lucky for us, there are signboards everywhere stating "airport bus" pointing us out of the terminal...

outside, we saw a booth selling tickets, we asked the person inside the booth, the helpful girl there straight away pointed to a bus next to us and said, "you want to go KhaoSan road, that's the bus! faster, it's going to leave now!" so, we purchased 2 tickets Bt.100 each, and hopped onto the bus. hooray, everything seems going fine! in the bus, we took out maps that my sister lend me, and started to study it while looking around for landmarks.

mikey told me the price of cars here is kinda low, so we shall expect to see all hebat-hebat punya kereta on the road. true enough, there are so many toyota and honda here, all look really shiny and new. replace these cars with proton wira & waja, you'll got Malaysia roads! :P

we reached KhaoSan road around 1.40pm (bangkok time from now on), the sceneries, the traffic, and the people just overwhelmed me. i lost my sense of direction. instead of looking for the main road (khao san), we got ourselves into a small back alley (well, the reason was we saw many mat sallehs coming out from there). we walked pass few food stalls, few shops, until we turned into another alley, we started to see few inns. we walked in and asked about their rate... not too bad, most of them ranged around 150-350baht. but all the inns have only share bathroom. since mikey demanded private bathroom, we came to a conclusion that we shall look for something more expensive then.

we walked out of the alley, and finally reached the middle of KhaoSan Road, right in front of us, there's a big signboard "Khaosan Palace Inn"... the look of the reception area was impressive, when we asked the rate, it's a bit more expensive than others, but at least they got private bathroom. so tried to pick the cheapest one, which was fan and double room. but they kept insisting that they don't have double room available, only twin room (2 single bed instead of 1 queen sized bed)... it's 50baht more expensive. we said we want to look at the room first, so they handed us a key and show us the way... we walked in, mmm... what a small room. we were so tired (of looking around, and walking, and the HOT weather was killing us), so we decided to settle with this one for now. i went down to pay - Bt.420. oklah, not too bad.

This is the outlook of the inn the name of the inn - DON'T SYAY here!
The time we took this photos was a bit late lah. hahaha! just imagine them as in afternoon hot sun ok!! but yeah, look at the reception, quite impressive hor?? but so sorry we didn't take photo of the interior, not a pretty sight i can tell you. the truth is i won't go back there again! hahaha.

After we cleaned up and relaxed a bit... we decided that, it's time to take our lunch already. looked at the time, it's already 2pm, which is Malaysia time 3pm - OF COZ we were hungry no wonder! hehe! so walked down the street trying to find something to eat.

as usual the first day, we were a bit lost. so, we walked and walked and finally decided to dine in a restaurant called "Prakoeb's House". I ordered green curry chicken with rice bt.65, mikey ordered american fried rice bt.70, we also ordered a mushroom salad bt.40 and 2 glasses of mixed fruit juice bt.25 each. a bit pricey i would say cause i expected thai food to be a lot more cheaper... but maybe i'm just a poor malaysian guy lah, hahaha, the price must look ridiculously cheap to westerners. -.-"

yum yum yum yum too!
1st pic showing the american fried rice sausage, fried egg, chicken n rice, closer is the green curry chicken with rice that shaped as "star". the 2nd pic showing the mushroom salad and the mixed fruit juice.

the food tasted ok, the portion was small. a bit lame to be our 1st meal in Bangkok i think! hahaha!
WE DESERVED BETTER THAN THESE!!! :P
but i always crave green curry, so hahaha i think the curry is fine... just not too worth the money. *call me stingy*.

No comments: